Monday 25 May 2015

Simon Doyle quickest of a strong team showing at the Lampard 10

There was potential for a Janet Jackson style, nip slip, wardrobe malfunction for Simon Doyle at the Lampard 10 on the F15 when his skinsuit zip failed. To protect the eyes of all observers Simon was forced to race in a heavy and un-aero winter top, but it didn't seem to slow him down too much.

Taking advantage of reasonable, but not super fast, conditions he blasted the course in 23:15 making him quickest of the team by 43 seconds from Andy Blower who showed improving form with his 23:58.

Next up for the team, and only just behind Andy was Dave Wentworth with a really strong 24:08 which just pipped Chris Hartley who rode to a fantastic course PB of 24:32.

Sam and Steve open the defence of their Victoria CC title with a win

As the defending series champions the pressure was on Sam Hayes and Steve Robinson to open their defence of the Victoria CC 10.2 mile 2-up title with a strong ride. With a 04:30 start, and the beginnings of a throat infection, it was looking tough for Sam in particular.

But as always he managed to pull a stunning ride out of the bag, working well with Steve to drive the pair round the lumpy course in a new PB time of 22:59 to give them the win by 7 seconds.

No doubt the competition will be back for round 2 in June, but hopefully with better health and more sleep the TSE pair will go quicker still.

In the solo event David Ledgerton was flying the flag for the team, and recorded a creditable 28:00.

Sunday 17 May 2015

"Jones the Speed" raises the game for the Engine

Martin Jones turned on the class on the K11/10T course on Sunday (17 May 2015) to record a striking 20.56 and a top 10 placing in the Royal Sutton CC 10 mile time trial. Jones' time was the fastest of the year for the team and is an enviable benchmark for the rest of the squad going forward (thanks Martin!).
Martin Jones speeds his way to glory

 Steve "Whiskers" Franklin and Dave Wentworth also contributed to the team effort, with Whiskers recording a PB of 23.35. Davecontinued his vein of good form to nip ahead of Steve with a 23.33.

Steve Franklin en route to a new PB
Dave Wentworth continues to build on his 2015 form

If that wasn't enough, Andy Roffe, Chris Rimes and Hugo Hocknell flew the flag on the previous Saturday (16 May 2015) with another triumvirate of great times. This time the Engine were racing on the demanding N1/10 course near Peterborough. Andy recorded 22.03, Chris 23.03 and Hugo, in a welcome return from a lingering illness, 24.03.

Elsewhere in the region on the Saturday, Simon Doyle and Dave Ledgerton took the opportunity to race the North Road CC F14/25, 25 miler around the rolling hills of Guilden Morden. Doyle posted 1.01.25 and Ledgerton came home with 1.13.05.

Not many teams can field three teams in three different districts (F, N and K) and still have half of their riders working out how to take down a tent or work out where the tonic water is ;-)

Saturday 2 May 2015

May Bank Holiday Racing Results - 02 May 2015

The Team took to the roads of London North and Midland Districts on Saturday 2nd May, 2015. Martin Jones and Steve Franklin rode the K41/10 course near Rugby. Windy conditions and rough road surface didn't deter the dynamic duo with Martin recording 22.10 and Steve 25.24 for the 10 miles.

Further south, the team fielded 9 riders in the Cambridge CC promoted 10 mile time trial on the Cambourne based F2D/10 course. A strong head wind to the turn took its toll but Andy Roffe and Chris Rimes both managed sub-22 minute performances.Sam Hayes rounded off the counting scores in the team (best 3) competition, giving The Engine an aggregate time of 1h 05m 39s. At the pointy end of the results board Andy was 11th, missing out on the top ten by 3 seconds. Chris came in 16th, with Sam 22nd.

Pictures from Davey Jones.

Andy Roffe on the F2D/10

Chris Rimes

Sam Hayes

Simon Doyle

Dave Wentworth

Chris Hartley

Andy Roffe 21.29
Chris Rimes 21.54
Sam Hayes 22.16
Simon Doyle 23.44
Andy Blower 24.11
Dave Wentworth 24.16
Chris Hartley 25.25
David Ledgerton 26.13
Stuart Hocknell 30.42

Results for the TT are on the TimeTrialling Forum.